This page is no longer being updated.

Come visit the new and improved 7th Cavalry Graves in South Dakota website!

Daniel Newell


Company M

Born: March 17, 1847 (Ballinlough, Rascommon County, Ireland)

Died: September 23, 1933 (Hot Springs, SD)

Grave location: Bear Butte Cemetery, Sturgis, SD

Grave GPS Coordinates: N44 24.651 W103 29.698

He enlisted on October 8, 1873, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, by Lt. William Volkmar.  He listed his previous occupation as blacksmith. He participated with the 7th Cavalry during its Black Hills Expedition of 1874. He was discharged on October 8, 1878, at Camp Ruhlen, Dakota, upon expiration of service, as a private of good character. He was post blacksmith at Fort Meade from 1879 to 1884. On July 9, 1882, he married Mary Harlow at the Fort Meade Chapel and resided in Sturgis, South Dakota. He had grey eyes, brown hair, a dark complexion, and was 5’ 7 ½” tall. He was wounded in the left leg (thigh) at the beginning of the retreat from the valley during the Little Bighorn fight on June 25, 1876. He was taken to Fort Lincoln aboard the steamer Far West. His story of the Battle of the Little Bighorn was published in The Sunshine Magazine on September 30, 1930, as “The Story of the Little Bighorn Campaign of 1876.”

Headstone for Daniel Newell at Bear Butte Cemetery - Sturgis, South Dakota

  Mary Newell, wife of Daniel, is second from the left in this photo from circa 1906.

Daniel Newell's pocket watch - on display in Cavalry Museum at Fort Meade, Sturgis, SD.

  Daniel Newell with his Company M comrades William Slaper and William Morris.  Taken at the
50th anniversary of the Little Big Horn battle, June 25, 1926.  Custer Battlefield.

  Daniel Newell Obituary - Deadwood Daily Pioneer-Times - September 26, 1933

Daniel Newell Obituary - Sturgis Weekly Record - September 28, 1933

  Newell's Return from 50th Anniversary Celebration - Sturgis Weekly Record - July 08, 1926


Joseph Bates aka Joseph Murphy -- Abram Brant -- Alexander Brown -- John Burri -- Rose Courtney -- Peter Eixenberger -- Moses Flint

Edward Garlick  -- Max Goetze -- John Hammon -- Max Hoehn -- Jacob Katzemeir -- James King -- John Lattman -- John Mahoney

Samuel McCormick -- James McGee -- David McWilliams -- Jan Mollar -- Daniel Newell -- Olans Northeg -- John Pahl

James Rooney -- Elijah Strode -- Peter Thompson -- George Weaver -- Henry Charles Weihe -- Markus Weiss -- Charles Windolph